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Why Landing Pages Are Essential for Business Success

Why Landing Pages Are Essential for Business Success

pritam

Pritam Roy

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Introduction

Here are the primary benefits of landing pages:

  1. Landing pages boost conversions

  2. Landing pages help you offer personalized experiences (for each segmentation)

  3. Landing pages help you leave a good first impression

  4. Landing page helps Build trust and credibility among your potential customers

  5. Landing pages increase your brand awareness

  6. Landing pages (optimized) reduce your customer acquisition costs

If this is not enough and you’re curious to learn how exactly do landing pages boost conversion to reduce the customer acquisition cost, you’d want to read further.

We’ll start from the basics by explaining what landing pages are, how they work, and the essential components of a landing page. And eventually we’ll dive deep into the benefits and explain each one with an example.

What is a landing page?

A landing page is a special webpage on your website crafted for a particular advertising or marketing campaign. It’s the page on which the visitor lands after they click a link in the email or ads from different platforms like Google, YouTube, or Facebook.

Remember clicking on an ad and landing on a website? 

The page you landed on is a landing page. 

Now, does this mean any page you land on is a landing page? Yes, that’s true. 

If you’re bringing traffic to your website’s homepage, then your homepage will act as your landing page. But that would be quite generic, which is why your goal should be to create unique landing pages for each campaign you run.

Here’s an example of Fibr AI’s landing page that targets visitors searching for a CRO agency:

Fibr AI’s landing page

Let’s now understand the key components of a landing page.

What are the key components of a landing page (that make it successful)?

A graphic that highlights all these elements on Fibr AI’s landing page

Here are the elements that make a landing page a landing page:

  • Headline and supporting copy

  • A hero image or video

  • The benefits of your offering

  • Lead capture form

  • Hidden navigation

  • Social proof

  • A single conversion goal or CT

1. Headline and supporting copy (Unique selling proposition)

Headline is the first thing that your visitors notice on your landing page. So, naturally, it has to be crisp enough to grab and retain their attention. Otherwise, your visitors will bounce off, and you’ll lose a potential customer.

However, as the headline needs to be short and crisp, you cannot add much detail. That is when the supporting headline or copy comes into the picture. You can use this space to deliver the USP of your product/service.

The text “FIRST CLASS FREE” in the example below the landing page is the headline. And the text beneath the headline is the supporting copy.


FIRST CLASS FREE

2. A hero image or video

A hero image is the first visual element that your visitors will notice. Some businesses add a video instead of the hero image, as videos are known to boost conversions by up to 86%, according to HubSpot.

Your hero image or video should be contextual, i.e., explain or show your product/service in action. 

For instance, if you’re an eCommerce brand that sells shoes, an image/video of a person wearing or walking with your shoes on would be great.

If you have a SaaS product, your app running on a sleek mobile device would serve the purpose.

Here’s an example of Sunkbasket’s landing page to help you understand the concept of hero image:


Sunkbasket’s landing page

The landing page has high-definition images of healthy and organic food. This image tells exactly what the business is about and adds more context for the visitors.

3. The benefits of your offering

After the headline and supporting copy, you need to include some more content that talks about the features and how those features benefit the visitors. This is essential to help the visitors understand that they and your product/service are a perfect match.

Many businesses fail to convince visitors, even though they have a great product. Why? Because they’re always talking about the features and not the benefits. Make sure you don’t make this mistake.

In this example from Nauto, you can clearly observe them talking about the benefits (sounds pretty convincing):


Nauto

4. Lead capture form

Another crucial element of your landing page is a lead capture form. In all of the above examples, you must have noticed a section with empty fields. They’re lead capture forms.

You essentially want your visitors to fill in their information in the form and click the CTA. That’s how you generate a lead.

Businesses often offer a lead magnet, which is a valuable asset (e-book, 10 tips about something, free trial), to visitors in exchange for the information.

Here’s an example of a landing page from Impraise:


example of a landing page from Impraise

They have a brief lead capture form where they’re asking for the name and the email. In exchange for this information, they’re offering a free guide (lead magnet).

5. Hidden navigation

Navigation is technically not a part of the landing page. Because it’s hidden ;)

If you noticed, there is no navigation menu in any of the above landing page examples. And the reason behind this is very simple: fewer distractions and more conversions.

A landing page without a navigation bar looks smoother, clutter-free, and doesn’t distract the visitors.

If you’re wondering whether this is true or not, here’s data to back our claim:

Yuppchief observed a 100% increase in conversion rates after removing the navigation bar from their landing page.

6. Social proof

Social proof works like magic. It’s the reason you end up making that hasty purchase and regret it later (not always. When you see other people use (and leave positive feedback) the product or service you’re planning to purchase, you automatically feel tempted.

Social proof can be of any form:

  • Video testimonial or interview

  • Case studies

  • Quotes from customers

  • Review scores

Check out this example from Hello Fresh:


customer testimonials of hello fresh

Hello Fresh has added customer testimonials that add more weight to their claims and motivate the readers to take action.

7. A single conversion goal or CTA

Every landing page should have a single conversion goal. By single conversion goal, we mean a CTA, which can either be a:

  • Standalone button on your conversion page 

  • Or the submit button of your lead generation form 

According to MailChimp, having multiple offers on the same landing page can reduce your conversions by up to 266%.

Here’s an example of a conversion goal or CTA on a conversion page from WIX:


CTA on a conversion page from WIX

Here’s an example of a conversion goal or CTA on a landing page’s lead generation form from Codecademy:


 lead generation form from Codecademy


Always keep these tips in mind when choosing your conversion goal or CTA:

  • Don’t use cliche button CTAs like “Submit” or “CLICK HERE”. They’re generic and boring. Use something more lucrative like “ACCESS YOUR FREE COURSE” or “GET 80% OFF ON YOUR PURCHASE”

  • Try to use short forms. Otherwise, you might end up irritating the customer. Look at the above example. It has just one field. How convenient?

  • Make sure you A/B test multiple CTAs to identify the best-performing one.

8. Bonus: message match

Message match is not a landing page component per se. It's rather a landing page best practice.

Imagine you enter a restaurant because it looks so luxurious from the outside, only to find out the staff is arrogant and their dishes are dirty. You’ll immediately run in the other direction, right?

Now, that is a message mismatch. Promised something else and delivered a completely different thing.

Message match is the process of ensuring your landing page walks the talk i.e. reflects the same values the copy promised which motivated the visitors to click.

Say you’re running an ad campaign that talks about a free ebook on marketing. When the visitors click on this ad, they land on a page that talks about the services you offer and not the ebook. This would force the visitors to bounce off due to a message mismatch.

On the other hand, if you direct them to the landing page which has a brief form to help them download the ebook you’re earlier talking about, things will be different. Why? Message match.

How do landing pages work?

Let’s take an imaginary situation to help you understand how landing pages work and how visitor-to-lead conversions take place.

Imagine you’re running an ad campaign to promote your live digital marketing masterclass. A person searching for digital marketing courses, comes across your PPC ad on Google, and clicks on it.

Your ad takes the person to a landing page designated for the course where he can find all the necessary details. From the course duration and the scope to customer testimonials to win his trust. And the person signs up (fills in the lead gen form) for the free masterclass.

Now, you have a lead! Once the masterclass ends, you can email that lead, nurture it further by offering a discount, and motivate them to purchase your full course.

That’s how you transform a visitor to a lead and eventually to a paying customer.

Note. PPC was just one of the methods of driving traffic to your landing page. There are multiple other options including:

  • Organic traffic

  • Social media

  • Email

  • Referral traffic

Now that you know how landing pages work, it’s time to learn why a landing page is important.

Why do you need Landing pages?

Let’s learn about the benefits of landing pages and understand why landing pages are an indispensable part of your marketing campaign:

1. Landing pages boost conversions

When you have landing pages (the more, the better), your conversions increase. Don’t take our word for it! Here’s the data:

From these stats, you can understand two things:

  • Landing pages increase conversions.

  • And more landing pages translate to an even higher conversion rate.

But why does this happen?

Instapage says landing pages perform better than website homepages for search traffic.

The primary reason behind this is the fact that landing pages are designed (or should be designed) for a particular set of audiences. 

Imagine you see two ad campaigns promoting a course. 

  1. One takes you to a dedicated landing page with relevant information for the visitors. It has a crisp copy, click-worthy CTA, testimonials, etc.

  2. The other one takes you to the homepage of the site selling the course.

2. Landing pages help you offer personalized experiences (for each segmentation)

By now, you know the basics. Landing pages help you offer a dedicated space to your visitors, increasing their chances of engagement.

But you can take this one step further. How?

It’s a good industry practice to segment your audiences based on different factors like:

  • Location.

  • Age group.

  • Device they’re using

  • The traffic source.

  • The operating system.

  • Behavior

  • Gender.

And with the right tools, you can personalize landing pages for all of the above segmentations or customer groups. Yes, a dedicated landing page personalized for each group!

Is this type of personalization even important?

Imagine you have gyms in multiple cities across the United States including Los Angeles, Houston, and Miami. 

You create an ad campaign that takes the visitors who click on your ad to your landing page. 

Now, you have two options:

  • A dedicated (yet generic) landing page that mentions all the locations.

  • 3 highly personalized landing pages with details that’re unique to each location like the name of the city, images, a guide map etc.

While the first option will also bring you results, the second option takes personalization to a whole another level, which makes all the difference. The visitors are more likely to engage and move to the next stage of the conversion journey.

But how do you hyper-personalize landing pages? 

There’s a one tool we know: Fibr AI.

Fibr AI is an AI-powered personalization platform that can help you create highly personalized landing pages across all platforms. You can create as many high-conversion landing pages as you want instantly, without needing a developer.

Whether you want to personalize for a device, gender, location, operating system, or traffic source, you can do it all, with Fibr AI.

3. Landing pages help you leave a good first impression

This is one of the most important benefits of landing pages.

First impressions are everything. Whether it’s an interview or your visitors’ interaction with your brand. And landing pages can help you leave a great first impression on your visitors.

But it’s not as easy as you think. To make a good first impression, you need to ensure that your landing page has all the essential elements, as stated above. Here’s a summary:

  1. Headline and supporting copy (Unique selling proposition)

  2. A hero image or video

  3. The benefits of your offering

  4. Lead capture form

  5. Hidden navigation

  6. Social proof

  7. A single conversion goal or CTA

If you design your landing page, keeping these elements in mind, your chances of getting more conversions increase substantially.

P.S. Here are 33 landing page examples you’ll love from HubSpot to inspire your landing page design.

4. Landing pages help build trust and credibility among your potential customers

This pointer is yet another gem on our list of landing page benefits.

Credibility and trust are two things that can either convince people to take their credit cards out or run to your competitors. And a landing page (a good one!) can help you ensure your visitors buy from you and don’t run away. 

In fact, according to Sender.net, using social proof on a landing page can boost conversions by around 34%.

But how do you make sure your landing page does not push visitors away?

Good quality landing pages come with social proof i.e., testimonials from customers, customer interviews, quotes from customers, etc. When visitors see that other people have bought from you and their experience has been good, it builds credibility. And they slowly start to trust your brand, which eventually leads to a purchase.

5. Landing pages increase your brand awareness

What do you think is the goal of a landing page? To help you generate leads to transform visitors into customers. If this came to your mind, you’d not be wrong.

But what if your landing page fails to generate leads or convert visitors into paying customers? Would you consider it a failure? If yes, you’d be wrong. Because more conversions is not the only goal of a landing page. 

Landing pages also play a huge role in increasing brand awareness among your visitors.

Imagine you’re looking for an email marketing tool on the internet. 

You find multiple ads and choose to click on one. Then you’re redirected to the landing page, where you notice the unique color scheme, logo, well-written copy, and other elements.

But later, you get distracted and start playing video games. A few days later, your colleague shows you an email marketing tool they have been using. You look at it immediately, only to find out it’s the same tool whose landing page you were exploring the other day.

Just because you visited the tool’s landing page, you became aware of their brand. And when the brand reappeared, you immediately recognized it. 

Now, would you not be naturally more inclined towards a brand you already know about? That’s how brand awareness works.

6. Landing pages (optimized) reduce your customer acquisition costs

The first pointer on this list of benefits of landing pages talks about how landing pages help improve conversions. But do you know landing pages also improve customer acquisition costs? 

Let’s learn how.

Imagine your website conversion rate is 2%. 

The traffic for a specific duration is 1000. 

This means out of these 1000 visitors 20 customers get converted. 

And your marketing efforts cost you $200.

If you calculate your customer acquisition cost = (total cost of marketing / number of customer acquired)

CAC = $200/20

CAC = $10

You spend $10 to acquire 1 customer.

Now, you create a dedicated landing page for your ad campaign, and your conversion rate doubles, for the same marketing spend.

So, now you are acquiring 40 customers by spending $200.

If we calculate your CAC, it will be = $5 ($200/40)

Earlier you were paying 10$ for 1 customer and now, you’re paying $5. That’s how landing pages can help reduce your customer acquisition costs.

Also, say each customer pays you 20$ on average.

Scenario 1 (before landing page): You’ll be making 20*20 = $400

ROAS = $400 (revenue) - $200 (marketing spend) = $200

Scenario 2 (after landing page): You’ll be making 40*20 = $800

ROAS = $800 (revenue) - $200 (marketing spend) = $600

So, landing pages not only help improve your customer acquisition cost (CAC) but also increase your revenue and the return on ad spend (ROAS). 

Conclusion: maximize business impact with landing pages

No matter how much traffic you drive via organic search, referrals, PPC campaigns, YouTube ads, without conversion-friendly landing pages, your potential customers will continue falling through the gaps. And this will eventually impact your business bottom line.

But as you understand the benefits of landing pages and what elements make a landing page successful, your probability of losing potential customers drops significantly. All you’ve got to do is take action, create and optimize landing pages, and maximize your business impact.

FAQs

1. What is the Importance of landing pages for small businesses?

Landing pages bring benefits for small and large businesses alike. If you’re a small business owner, you can enjoy the following benefits.:

  • More conversions

  • Reduced customer acquisition cost

  • Deliver a personalized experience to your audience

  • Build trust and credibility

  • Increase brand awareness

2. What are landing pages designed for?

The primary purpose of landing pages is to help you convert your visitors into leads and eventually into paying customers.

3. How to create landing pages?

Landing pages are often a numbers game. According to HubSpot, businesses with more than 40 landing pages experienced an increase in conversions by more than 500%.

To create these many landing pages, you need a reliable and fast solution like Fibr AI. With it’s AI-powered landing page creator, you can create high-converting landing pages in bulk almost instantly. The best part? You don’t have to code. Fibr AI comes with a visual editor that makes creating landing pages a breeze.

What’s even better is Fibr AI’s recommendations engine that suggests you copy for different design elements that is more likely to convert. So, start free today and create landing pages that work for you!

Let’s build 1000s of landing pages in under 30 minutes for you

Let’s build 1000s of landing pages in under 30 minutes for you

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8 The Green, Dover, DE, 19904 USA

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Copyright ©SeamlessAI. All rights reserved.